THE BELTANE BLESSING

Blessed be this day of Beltane
Wedding day of the Goddess and the God
Holly day of sacred Marriage
Holly night of sacred Union
The fertile Goddess of Summer
Walks through the land
With the great horned God of the Forest
And the dark time of Winter is behind me

It’s the season of Mother’s Day and the sacred marriage of the May King and the May Queen. The fertility of the King and Queen is reflected in the land, crops, animals and people. It’s also another one of those quarter days where the early peoples lit a bonfire, which served the purpose not only for cooking the feasts and providing light and warmth, but also for blessings, healing’s, fertility, and preventing diseases. A Celtic tradition was to “leap the Beltane fires,” which was for good luck and the fulfilment of wishes. It was also to heat up one’s loins and carnal desires, since this was also an intensely erotic time.

It’s the season for the Maypole and for May baskets. The dance around the Maypole honors the life-giving fertility of the Earth. In days gone by men and women would dance in a spiral while holding colorful ribbons, moving ever closer to the middle, where not only the ribbons intertwined, but their bodies would mingle as well. This rite was also an elaborate form of foreplay during this season where lusty passion was unabashedly expressed.

THE BELTANE BLESSING – fragments

… Myself, my spouse, and my children,
My tender children and their beloved mother at their head.
On the fragrant plain, on the gay mountain sheiling,
On the fragrant plain, on the gay mountain sheiling.

Everything within my dwelling or in my possession,
All kine and crops, all flocks and corn,
From Hallow Eve to Beltane Eve,
With goodly progress and gentle blessing,
From sea to sea, and every river mouth,
From wave to wave, and base of waterfall…..

….Be the Three Persons taking possession of all to me belonging,
Be the sure Trinity protecting me in truth;
Oh! satisfy my soul in the words of Paul,
And shield my loved ones beneath the wing of Thy glory,
Shield my loved ones beneath the wing of Thy glory…..

….Bless everything and every one,
Of this little household by my side;
Place the cross of Christ on us with the power of love,
Till we see the land of joy,
Till we see the land of joy…..

* Photos via Pinterest

I will not be able to participate in Beltane night like I was able last year… You can have a look at my earlier post in April:

https://poojycat.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/farewell-sweden/

I wish you all Blessed Beltane! 

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE BELTANE BLESSING

  1. I get pleasure from, cause I found exactly what I was taking a look for. You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  2. Cat Health says:

    Hi a massive thanks for showing well prepared information.I will be bookmarking your page for future research.good luck with this interesting work.

  3. maskednative says:

    Things just settle in our minds without our really knowing the origins, very grateful for all the information above and love the illustrations. Look forward to seeing more of your posts

Leave a Reply

