Amo Ergo Sum

Just wanted to share this poem with you 🙂
Happy Halloween! 🙂
Amo Ergo Sum
Because I love
      The sun pours out its rays of living gold
      Pours out its gold and silver on the sea.
Because I love
      The earth upon her astral spindle winds
      Her ecstasy-producing dance.
Because I love
      Clouds travel on the winds through wide skies,
      Skies wide and beautiful, blue and deep.
Because I love
      Wind blows white sails,
      The wind blows over flowers, the sweet wind blows.
Because I love
      The ferns grow green, and green the grass, and green
      The transparent sunlit trees.
Because I love
      Larks rise up from the grass
      And all the leaves are full of singing birds.
Because I love
      The summer air quivers with a thousand wings,
      Myriads of jewelled eyes burn in the light.
Because I love
      The iridescnt shells upon the sand
      Takes forms as fine and intricate as thought.
Because I love
      There is an invisible way across the sky,
      Birds travel by that way, the sun and moon
      And all the stars travel that path by night.
Because I love
      There is a river flowing all night long.
Because I love
      All night the river flows into my sleep,
      Ten thousand living things are sleeping in my arms,
      And sleeping wake, and flowing are at rest.

 

— Kathleen Raine (1908-2003)
Amo Ergo Sum” in The Year One,
Hamish Hamilton, London, 1952, pp. 24-25
Also: The Collected Poems of Kathleen Raine
Golgonooza Press, Ipswich, UK, 2000, pp. 76-77
http://www.wisdomportal.com/Technology/Raine-AmoErgoSum.html
This entry was posted in poems.. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Amo Ergo Sum

  1. And thank you for sharing this with us all. Blessings, Barbara

  2. elisaruland says:

    This poem is has wonderful imagery. It took me to a beautiful place.

    Elisa

  3. Happy Halloween! and I love this post!

Leave a Reply

