In Praise of Dreams

 

In my dreams
I paint like Vermeer van Delft.
I speak fluent Greek
and not just with the living.
I drive a car
that does what I want it to.
I am gifted
and write mighty epics.
I hear voices
as clearly as any venerable saint.
My brilliance as a pianist
would stun you.
I fly the way we ought to,
i.e., on my own.
Falling from the roof,
I tumble gently to the grass.
I’ve got no problem
breathing under water.
I can’t complain:
I’ve been able to locate Atlantis.
It’s gratifying that I can always
wake up before dying.
As soon as war breaks out,
I roll over on my other side.
I’m a child of my age,
but I don’t have to be.
A few years ago
I saw two suns.
And the night before last a penguin,
clear as day.
Wislawa Szymborska
View with a Grain of Sand (1996)

 

This entry was posted in Love Life Live, poems.. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In Praise of Dreams

  1. Robyn Lee says:

    I love this poojy ~ beautiful piece and thank you for sharing…. Sending Love to you dear friend! x RL

  2. sakuraandme says:

    Peaceful and beautiful! Love the picture! Night from Oz…..Hugs Paula x

  3. I love this. I want to come hang out with you life would seem so much better.

    • poojycat says:

      aww, i feel so touched by those words… speechless… life is better anyway, you just need to tell yourself that every day and build your faith into your own words. Love and Light xo ~~

  4. The picture you picked, was perfect for such a unique writing.

Leave a Reply

